Content Restriction

Protecting content for different membership levels is an integral part of Paid Member Subscriptions.

There are two ways of protecting your posts, pages and custom post types: directly from each individual post or page or using the [pms-restrict] shortcode.

Considering that PMS creates the user account even if the payment was not successful (we do this so that users can login and retry the payment), you should always restrict your paid content by checking the right Subscription Plans checkboxes and not rely only on the Logged in status of your users.

Restriction Using a Message

This option will show the user a custom message instead of the restricted content that he was trying to access.

If you check only Logged in Users in the Display For area the content will be visible to anyone who is logged in. To restrict the content based on a subscription plan as well, you will need to check the boxes corresponding to the Subscription Plan.

Restriction using a message on a post.

In the screenshot above the restriction is applied to show this post only to users which are subscribed to the Gold or Silver plan.

The message that the user will see if he cannot access the content can be found by going to Paid Member Subscriptions -> Settings -> Content Restriction.

If you check the Enable Custom Messages checkbox you will be able to modify these messages and make them specific to the post that you just restricted.

Customize the messages the restriction messages.

Restriction Using a Redirect

This option will allow you to define a page that users should be redirected to if they don’t have access to the content they were trying to access.

Restriction using a redirect on a post.

Based on the settings shown in the screenshot above, only users which are subscribed to the Gold or Silver plan will be able to see this page, the rest will be redirected.

The Redirect URL can be changed by going to Paid Member Subscriptions -> Settings -> Content Restriction.

You can also add a Custom Redirect URL which is only applied to the post that is currently being edited by checking the Enable Custom Redirect URL checkbox.

Customize the Redirect URL.

Settings Default

This option will take the content restriction settings configured in Paid Member Subscriptions -> Settings -> Content Restriction and apply them to the post. This is also the default selected option.

Restricting the content using the Settings Default option.