Prevent Account Sharing on Membership Sites

Prevent Account Sharing on Membership Sites

If you’re a membership site owner, having an easy way to prevent account sharing will protect your revenue and increase your subscriber base in the long term.

There are of course multiple ways to tackle the login credentials sharing problem. From adopting only social login as a method of authentication, to limiting the number of sessions, MAC or IP addresses a member can use when accessing your paid resources. None of them is bullet proof.

The main idea is to make it inconvenient for a member to share his password, so that it’s not worth the hassle. That’s what we aimed for when implementing the ability to prevent account sharing in Paid Member Subscriptions.

We wanted something simple, that will do the job in most cases.

Prevent Account Sharing in Paid Member Subscriptions

The simplest way to tackle this issue is by blocking concurrent logins.

Prevent Account Sharing in Paid Member Subscriptions

Using this setting you’re preventing users from being logged in from multiple places at the same time. If the current user’s session has been taken over by a newer session, we will log him out and he will have to login again.

Think about it. It’s pretty annoying to find yourself logged out by someone to whom you gave your password. Of course, you can log in again, but if this goes on, it can be quite unpleasant.

This will make it inconvenient for members to share their login credentials.

Do you already prevent account sharing on your membership site? If not, make sure to give Paid Member Subscriptions a try. This option is part of the free version as well.

Subscribe to get early access

to new plugins, discounts and brief updates about what's new with Cozmoslabs!

One thought on “Prevent Account Sharing on Membership Sites

  1. I’ve tested the plugin ‘Prevent Concurrent Logins’ but am in doubt of really using it. The thing that bothers me the most, is that every New session is honored in favour of an Old (existing) session. This means that a user who is successfully logged-in gets locked out as soon as someone else is logging in with the same credentials. In my opinion this not very user friendly, and actually it should work the other way around. When a user (B) is trying to log in by using the same credentials from a user (A) who is already logged in, user B should get a warning that logging in with these credentials is not possible at the moment because someone else (user A) is using it. This keeps user A logged in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.